# 28<sup>th</sup> Salute to Framingham

The 28<sup>th</sup> annual Salute to Framingham that was originally scheduled for March 19<sup>th</sup>, 2020 has been rescheduled as a virtual, live event on Thursday, May 13<sup>th</sup> at 7pm. This event will be provided at no charge to the public (donations to the FHS Foundation are welcome at https://www.cgiving.org/donate/GiveFHSF). All attendees MUST register at : <u>https://fpsed-org.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN\_pu984QrCQJK5zq34F-sx6w</u>.

The Salute to Framingham (organized annually by the Framingham High School Foundation) is a celebratory event to honor and recognize community members who have made an extraordinary commitment to the youth of Framingham.

The Jim O'Connor Community Service Award, given in honor of those who hold the passion, vision, commitment and leadership skills of the Salute to Framingham founder, Jim O'Connor, is given to organizations that work to serve the youth of Framingham.

The Salute to Framingham recognizes retiring senior-level administrators for their outstanding career dedication to students' education, enrichment and well-being. These senior-level administrators are given a "We Are Grateful" designation.

The Salute to Framingham also recognizes Framingham teachers and staff who go the extra mile to make each day "special" in our public schools. These teachers and staff are given a "You Are Special" designation.

Finally, the Salute to Framingham recognizes seniors (Classes of 2020 and 2021) who have served as exemplary role models.

For more information about the Salute to Framingham and all honorees, please visit www.framinghamhighschoolfoundation.org and see the list below. The FHS Foundation thanks all of the teachers and staff for their hard work during this especially challenging year. We look forward to the 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Salute to Framingham in March of 2022.

All proceeds from the Salute to Framingham benefit the Framingham High School Foundation which supports the extracurricular Activities, Arts, and Athletics at Framingham High School

# Salute to Framingham Honorees:

**Alex Braverman** has been involved in Framingham youth athletic programs for more than 25 years. Alex has coached FUSC and TBA basketball, served on the board of FUSC, was both president and treasurer of FUSC and is a division director for TBA basketball. Alex has been a soccer referee for over 15 years and was the Referee Director for FUSC for a several years. Alex also ran the FUSC Memorial Day soccer tournament for many years and played an integral role in guiding FUSC to financial stability following their difficulties in 2015.

**Ricky Finlay** is a five-time member of the School Committee, where he spearheaded the effort to eliminate all athletic and activity fees for all Framingham students. Ricky has made lasting improvements to recreation facilities in the areas of South Framingham including the Hoops and Homework playground, the Barbieri playground and the Interfaith Site. Ricky is a former equipment manager for Framingham Youth Football and Cheer and has served as a Cubmaster for the Saxonville Pack 21. He is also a member of Framingham's Disability Commission, City Seal Committee, Fuller building committee, and on the Board of Directors for Hoops and Homework.

## Jim O'Connor Community Service Award:

**Jeff's Place** provides free grief support groups for families who have experienced a significant death loss, serving children ages 3-18, along with their caregivers. They facilitate healthy integration of loss by helping families feel connected with each other and less alone in their grief journey. Jeff's Place has served over 550 individuals from 38 cities and towns in and around MetroWest through their free support groups, individual counseling, educational trainings and crisis intervention. Their families come from a wide diversity of cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; grief and loss does not discriminate.

### We are Grateful Recipients:

Susan McGilvray-Rivet, Retiring Barberi Elementary School Principal.

Genoveffa Grieci, Retiring Director of the Multilingual Education Department.

### You are Special Recipients:

Maria Aparecida Dias - Cameron Peggy Ayres - Central Office Liannys Alvarez & Diane Cartie - Barbieri Jennifer Bremer - Fuller Lauren Brown - Stapleton Gina Capodilupo - Brophy Lori Casavant - Dunning Joseph Ciavarini - Fuller Jack Coleman - Woodrow Jackie Cueroni - Hemenway Cheryl Curley - Walsh Iris de León - BLOCKS preschool Maria Dias - Dunning Victoria Dutcher - Brophy Dana Feingold - Potter Rd Gabriel Garcet - Stapleton Mark Goldschmidt – Framingham High School Sabrina Gravanti - King Monica LaBran - Potter Rd Nicole McCormack - Framingham High School Elena Nardizzi - McCarthy Colleen Rogers - Cameron Elisa Sadulsky - Walsh Daniel Sirpenski - Framingham High School Mable Su – BLOCKS preschool